Ohio & Erie Canalway Association

Celebrating the rails, trails, landscapes, towns and sites that grew up along the first 110 miles of the canal that helped Ohio and our nation grow.

The Ohio & Erie Canalway Board of Directors

A collaborative spirit guides the Association: the OECA board is comprised of members from both founding organizations' boards. It consists of ten members representing all four counties within the National Heritage Area. These members are appointed to govern the decisions on federal funding, while meeting the obligations of planning and local match required by the legislation.

The executive committee of the Ohio & Erie Canalway Association consists of the chairman, immediate past chair, vice chair, secretary and treasurer. Cuyahoga Valley National Park Superintendent Craig Kenkel serves an ex officio role on the board.

Directors and staff of the two founding organizations, Canalway Partners and Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition, along with Cuyahoga Valley National Park staff provide technical assistance to and work in partnership with the OECA.

Executive Committee
Effective 2023 & serving two-year terms:

  • Nick Gattozzi, Chairman - Kent State University, representing the Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition 
  • Tom Yablonsky, Vice Chair - Downtown Cleveland Alliance (Retired), representing Canalway Partners
  • Jim Graham, Treasurer - Catholic Charities, Diocese of Cleveland, representing Canalway Partners
  • Michael Hoffman, Secretary - Retired, representing the Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition 

Board Members

  • Christopher Burnham - Development Finance Authority of Summit County, representing the Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition
  • Michael Dostal - CIBC US, representing Canalway Partners
  • David Jurca - Seventh Hill, representing Canalway Partners
  • Patricia Piteo - Retired, representing the Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition
  • John Vallillo - Independent Court Representative, LLC, representing the Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition
  • Amy Whitacre - First American Title National Commercial Services, representing Canalway Partners

edit map filters

  • Select a Section


  • Select Activities

  • Select Points of Interest


    Hotels & Lodging

    Along the Trail